Observing Kosher Rules

| |

Click to Enlarge

Kosher dietary laws should be observed all throughout the year, not just during Passover. Keeping kosher is a way of showing our obedience to God. Here are a few things to keep in mind to keep kosher:

  • According to Torah, there are certain animals that should not be eaten at all. Refrain from eating the flesh, eggs and milk, or organs of these forbidden animals.
  • Drain all the blood from meat before eating.
  • Animals should be slaughtered according to Jewish law.
  • There are certain parts/organs of permitted animals that should not be eaten.
  • You should not eat meat with dairy. Eat fish, fruits, eggs, vegetables, and grains with either meat or dairy.
  • Make sure that there are no insects left in the vegetables or fruits that you will consume.
  • Never drink wine and grape juice made by non-Jews.
  • Do not use pots, pans and other kitchen utensils for dairy if it has been used with meat, and vice versa.
  • When shopping for food, look for the kosher mark (kosher certification).

Readers found more information by searching for:



You might also like:


Posted by on Thursday, July 8th, 2010. Filed under Jewish How To. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed