A food is considered kosher when it follows strict Jewish Dietary Guidelines. This is indicated by a label or symbol printed on the food package. There are different labels representing a specific agency’s certification that the food has been prepared according to Jewish Dietary Laws.
- It is important to be familiar with the Jewish Dietary Laws or Kashrut. You can learn about Kashrut though internet. Talk to your rabbi about keeping kosher and the Jewish Dietary Laws.
- You don’t need to look for a symbol if the food is obviously non-kosher. For example, meat and milk or dairy cannot be mixed so a cheeseburger is definitely non- kosher. Fish must have fin and scales to be considered kosher. Vegetables such as lettuce, broccoli, or cabbage must be checked thoroughly for insect infestation.
- Do not forget to check the ingredients of the product you are to buy. Make sure that there are no non-kosher ingredients.
- Check for the kosher certification symbol on the package. These labels are usually indicated with a “U” (for The Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations), a star with the letter K (Star-K Kosher Certification), a circle with the letter K (The Organized Kashrus Laboratories), the letter D with a star inside it (National Council of Young Israel). There are other kosher certification symbols which you can search through the internet. These labels are usually found at the bottom of the item or on the side of the package.
Readers found more information by searching for:
- kosher symbols on food (59)
- kosher food symbols (53)
- kosher food symbol (34)
- kosher symbols (34)
- kosher food labels (11)
- kosher symbols on food packaging (10)
- kosher labels (10)
- Kosher Signs (8)
- kosher symbols on food packages (8)
- learn the difference (8)
- jewish food symbols (7)
- kosher nonkosher (6)
- kosher meat difference (5)
- kosher certification symbols (5)
- kosher symbol on food (5)
- kosher symbols on food labels (4)
- kosher symbol (4)
- kosher and nonkosher (3)
You might also like: