Eating Jewish: Recipes for a tasty Tu B’Shevat table

| |

Although there are no specific dishes that have traditionally been prepared for Tu B’Shevat, the custom of serving dishes that contain fruits and nuts has emerged. There is also the custom of consuming the Shevah Minim or “Seven Species,” the five fruits and two grains found in the land of Israel.

According to Gil Marks in the Encyclopedia of Jewish Food, the seven species are either eaten in the order in which they’re mentioned in Deuteronomy, namely wheat, barley, grapes, figs, pomegranates, olives and dates or in order of their importance in ancient Israel, wheat, barley, olives or olive oil, dates, grapes or wine, figs and pomegranates.


Readers found more information by searching for:

You might also like:

Posted by Jasmin on Saturday, January 22nd, 2011. Filed under Jewish Blogs. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

    blog comments powered by Disqus