Was Jesus Kosher?

| |

Was Jesus Kosher? That question automatically demands an absolute answer. It’s a total no-brainer. No, Jesus was not and is not Kosher. There are thousands, perhaps millions of reasons that Jesus cannot be considered kosher — meaning in a narrow sense, “(of a person) Observing Jewish food laws” or “Satisfying the requirements of Jewish law” and in a wider sense, “proper” or “acceptable” to Jews.

And yet, there’s a new book by our neighbor Shmuley Boteach called “Kosher Jesus.” We did an Amazon-read of the book, meaning we read whatever Amazon let us in its preview window, without actually buying the book. It’s a good thing we did not buy it. The book has been banned by some of our Orthodox rabbinical colleagues.

Of course getting a book banned is the dream of every author and publisher. In theory it sends sales skyrocketing. “Banned in Boston” makes people interested.

Read More: tzvee.blogspot.com

You might also like:


Posted by on Tuesday, February 7th, 2012. Filed under Jewish Blogs. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.